Lesson Plan #1

phonicsgamesv.com

phonicsgamesv.com

Dear bloggers. How are you doing? It is nice to meet you again here.

Well, in this posting, let me share my experience in writing a lesson plan, particularly about teaching reading. Yep, since I acknowledge the important role of lesson plan for a successful teaching learning, I always make use of writing it. Sometimes, I wonder how the collection of my lesson plan can be modified into the book form in the later future as Munif Chatib, the author of ‘Sekolahnya Manusia”, said that we can do many things with it including authoring the book. Hmm, it must be interesting, right?

Alright, let’s start with the problems I often encounter when teaching reading.

Frankly speaking, I always encounter some problems in teaching reading. I think these problems are also encountered by most English teachers in Indonesia including you. The first problem and I think it’s the commonest one is students’ lack of vocabulary. You see, this problem always burdens the students when they have a reading assignment. They think that reading is not too interesting as they will find numerous strange words.

The second problem is the lack of enthusiasm. This problem is actually caused by the first problem. As the students cannot decode and comprehend the text well, they don’t think that reading is an interesting activity. And then, it results in their reluctance to get involved in reading activity. Of course, it seems so serious when we consider that reading is one of the important skills students should master if they want to be success in their academic life. If they don’t have any intesrest in it, how will they become good at it?

The last one, but not the least, is the students’ low comprehension. You see, even the students are able to finish reading the text, most of them cannot comprehend it well. When we give them Reading Comprehension Questions, the result is not too satisfying.

So, how to cope with these problems?

I have some solutions. Let’s discuss them one-by-one.

To help the students cope with their vocabulary problems, I don’t suggest them to ask a dictionary for a help. You know, many experts say that opening dictionary during reading is not highly recommended. It will interrupt students’ reading process. Instead of that, the students should try how to understand the word in context. By means of seeing the surrounding words, they can understand a strange word in context. Even it is not always accurate but it will help them predict the meaning. According to the literatures I have read there are at least seven strategies to understand the words in context; they are: the knowledge of the world, punctuation clues, definition clues, example clues, comparison clues, contrast clues, and referent clues. I hope I can discuss them more in the next post.

How about coping with their low enthusiasm problem? I think we can solve it by making small discussion groups so the students can discuss the reading materials together. We may also use other teaching methods grouped in Cooperative Teaching Learning like STAD, Jigsaw and the like. This will help the poor readers understand the passage well. As the result of these strategies, I believe the students’ comprehension will increase automatically.

It seems so that simple, right? However, the experience tells us that it won’t be so that simple in the field.

In my present teaching, I try to apply these steps to cope with the problems in teaching reading. I suggest my students to not easily refer to the dictionary upon finding the strange words. I also divide the students into several discussion groups, so the poor readers will get helped by the excellent ones. Let’s see whether these steps will work in increasing students’ reading comprehension.

Well, it’s the time to show you my lesson plan. Perhaps, it will not meet your expectation as it is the simple form of the lesson plan. I adapt it from BBC Learning English. You know, actually there is no any standard how to write the lesson plan. The most important one is it can make us prepared in our teaching.

Here is the sample of my lesson plan. And here is the materials.

I have not rechecked the accuracy of my lesson plan, so let me know if you find any mistakes.

Hope it’s inspring, guys😀

See you later in the next posting. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

